Full year of events at Lydden Hill     Buy Tickets Now


Created on Tuesday, 12 Apr 2016 20:34:21

After a long off-season for drivers and fans alike, the British Drift Championship roared back into action last weekend with round one at Lydden Hill circuit in Kent.

With a grid of almost 80 drivers competing over the two day event across both the Pro and Pro-Am classes, the new-look series – now for the first time under the management of David Egan – aimed to wow the fans, both those in attendance and those watching at home on the BDC Livestream, and that’s exactly what it did.

On day one of the event, the near 50-strong grid of Pro-Am drivers got their first taste of 2016 BDC action as each and every driver battled hard to get as many points on the board as possible at the start of the season in the roaring Canterbury sunshine.

In the end, it was Slide Motorsport’s Ben Manuel who would come up trumps, defeating Matt Walker in the first final of the year. Third place on the podium then went to Danny Grundy, as he displaced Ben Manuel’s Slide Motorsport teammate Matt Stevenson in the third and fourth place battle.

After BDC Round 1 – Pro-Am Class – Top 4:

– Ben Manuel – 50 Points
– Matt Walker – 45 Points
– Danny Grundy – 40 Points
– Matt Stevenson – 35 points

As the sun set on day one, next up was the rain for the Pro class event at Round 1. With rain causing havoc for drift events the world over last weekend, the BDC Pro grid would put their best foot forward and battle through the appalling conditions.

With an eclectic mix of power levels and differences in setup and with plenty of changes being made behind the scenes at the BDC as well, Round 1 was the perfect time for changes in the driver hierarchy come the end of the weekend.

One man not wanting that to happen was current BDC champion Jack Shanahan, but despite his best efforts, that’s exactly what happened, as Marc Huxley secured his place at the very top of the first Pro podium of the year.

Pulling out almost millimetre perfect runs over the course of the day, he took down Team Japspeed driver Shane Lynch as he piloted his Avon Tyres Toyota Celica RA28 to victory. The last remaining step on the podium then went to Lassa Tyres driver Simon Perry, as his R35 GT-R proved too much for another Japspeed driver in Paul Smith.

After BDC Round 1 – Pro Class – Top 4:

– Marc Huxley – 50 Points
– Shane Lynch – 45 Points
– Simon Perry – 40 Points
– Paul Smith – 35 Points

Aside from the main awards mentioned above, the Team Constructor’s award for Round 1 went to Slide Motorsport and the Hard Charger award went to Danny Grundy.

After BDC Round 1 – Team Constructor Standings – Top 4:

– Slide Motorsport – 109 Points
– Team Japspeed – 105 Points
– Driftworks – 69 Points
– Team MnM – 45 Points

Thank you to all our fans, sponsors and staff who supported this year’s BDC Round 1 and a massive congratulations once again to all our Round 1 winners.

Footman James

Our Sponsors & Partners

How to Find Us

Located just off A2

9 miles from Dover

Sat Nav CT4 6ET

Please do not follow Sat Nav through the village

Please respect our neighbours and keep noise down when travelling to and from the circuit

About Us

Racing, Rallycross, Track days and more

Stay Connected on:

Newsletter Sign Up

* indicates required